Searchfortreasure's Blog

…a Bible student's notes…

Withdrawals from my memory account…..

New Series:  Withdrawals from my memory account will need some explanations.  Memories are drawn from my emotional column.  They will be accurate – not to the letter nor to the amount – but to my emotional recall.  Now, at my age, memories come from my happy place.  I can conjure up some mighty unhappy ones – and I just might – however, my memory and I prefer the happy ones.  You see, I have a sister who will probably read this and she might think that that is not the way she remembers it.  She is correct.  Indeed, she will remember out of her emotional memory account, etc.  That is just the way being human works.  Reared in the same family, with the same parents, she responded with her emotions ……besides, she is 4 years younger than the sister telling these stories.

First, I will tell you how I got to be born…..according to my parents.

Pearl Harbor was bombed on December 7, 1941.  I was born on August 30, 1942.  If you are good at math, you can figure it out.  It goes like this:  some time in December, 1941. my mom had a dream that the United States would join the war and that my dad would get drafted.  She woke him up in the middle of the night and said, “George, let’s have a baby.”  He was all for that!  He went on to say, that the first two weeks were fun, but after that it was just plain work!  (I overheard him say that at his 40th birthday party down at the bar-b-que pit at our house.  It has always been a precious moment to me.)

June 2, 2017 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

