Searchfortreasure's Blog

…a Bible student's notes…

Abraham’s Promise

Abraham’s Calling by the God of Glory

Act 7:2 And he said, “Hear me, brethren and fathers! The God of glory appeared to our father Abraham when he was in Mesopotamia, before he lived in Haran, Act 7:3 and said to him, ‘LEAVE YOUR COUNTRY AND YOUR RELATIVES, AND COME INTO THE LAND THAT I WILL SHOW YOU.’ Act 7:4 “Then he left the land of the Chaldeans and settled in Haran. From there, after his father died, God had him move to this country in which you are now living. Act 7:5“But He gave him no inheritance in it, not even a foot of ground, and yet, even when he had no child, He promised that HE WOULD GIVE IT TO HIM AS A POSSESSION, AND TO HIS DESCENDANTS AFTER HIM. Act 7:6 “But God spoke to this effect, that his DESCENDANTS WOULD BE ALIENS IN A FOREIGN LAND, AND THAT THEY WOULD BE ENSLAVED AND MISTREATED FOR FOUR HUNDRED YEARS. Act 7:7 ” ‘AND WHATEVER NATION TO WHICH THEY WILL BE IN BONDAGE I MYSELF WILL JUDGE,’ said God, ‘AND AFTER THAT THEY WILL COME OUT AND SERVE ME IN THIS PLACE.’ Act 7:8 “And He gave him the covenant of circumcision; and so Abraham became the father of Isaac, and circumcised him on the eighth day; and Isaac became the father of Jacob, and Jacob of the twelve patriarchs.

Let’s look more closely at the calling and life of Abraham. The only way to do this is read the Scriptures themselves. I will put some in order for you with little comment:

Abraham lived in Ur (Iraq) of the Chaldees -Ge 11:27 ¶ Now these are [the records of] the generations of Terah. Terah became the father of Abram, Nahor and Haran; and Haran became the father of Lot. 28 And Haran died in the presence of his father Terah in the land of his birth, in Ur of the Chaldeans.

The word to Abraham from the God of Glory – Ge 12:1 ¶ Now the LORD said to Abram, “Go forth from your country, And from your relatives And from your father’s house, To the land which I will show you; Ge 12:2 And I will make you a great nation, And I will bless you, And make your name great; And so you shall be a blessing; Ge 12:3 And I will bless those who bless you, And the one who curses you I will curse. And in you all the families of the earth shall be blessed.” Ge 12:4 ¶ So Abram went forth as the LORD had spoken to him; and Lot went with him. Now Abram was seventy-five years old when he departed from Haran. Ge 12:5 And Abram took Sarai his wife and Lot his nephew, and all their possessions which they had accumulated, and the persons which they had acquired in Haran, and they set out for the land of Canaan; thus they came to the land of Canaan. Ge 12:7 And the LORD appeared to Abram and said, “To your descendants I will give this land.” So he built an altar there to the LORD who had appeared to him.

A Literal Land – Forever (a promised resurrection in the coming age) – Ge 13:12 Abram settled in the land of Canaan, while Lot settled in the cities of the valley, and moved his tents as far as Sodom. Ge 13:14 ¶ And the LORD said to Abram, after Lot had separated from him, “Now lift up your eyes and look from the place where you are, northward and southward and eastward and westward; Ge 13:15 for all the land which you see, I will give it to you and to your descendants forever. Ge 13:16 “And I will make your descendants as the dust of the earth; so that if anyone can number the dust of the earth, then your descendants can also be numbered. Ge 13:17 “Arise, walk about the land through its length and breadth; for I will give it to you.”

The Promise Includes Reward, Inheritance – and Covenant – and Blessings for all nations (Gentiles included) of the Earth –

Ge 15:1 ¶ After these things the word of the LORD came to Abram in a vision, saying, “Do not fear, Abram, I am a shield to you; Your reward shall be very great.” Ge 15:2 ¶ And Abram said, “O Lord GOD, what wilt Thou give me, since I am childless, and the heir of my house is Eliezer of Damascus?” Ge 15:3 And Abram said, “Since Thou hast given no offspring to me, one born in my house is my heir.” Ge 15:4 Then behold, the word of the LORD came to him, saying, “This man will not be your heir; but one who shall come forth from your own body, he shall be your heir.” Ge 15:6 Then he believed in the LORD; and He reckoned it to him as righteousness. Ge 15:7 ¶ And He said to him, “I am the LORD who brought you out of Ur of the Chaldeans, to give you this land to possess it (“inherit it”).”

Ge 17:7 ¶ “And I will establish My covenant between Me and you and your descendants after you throughout their generations for aneverlasting covenant, to be God to you and to your descendants after you. Ge 17:8 “And I will give to you and to your descendants after you, the land of your sojournings, all the land of Canaan, for an everlasting possession; and I will be their God.”

Ge 22:17 indeed I will greatly bless you, and I will greatly multiply your seed as the stars of the heavens, and as the sand which is on the seashore; and your seed shall possess the gate of their enemies. Ge 22:18 “And in your seed all the nations of the earth shall be blessed, because you have obeyed My voice.”

Ge 17:19 But God said, “No, but Sarah your wife shall bear you a son, and you shall call his name Isaac; and I will establish My covenant with him for an everlasting covenant for his descendants after him.

April 21, 2015 Posted by | Uncategorized | Leave a comment

   

