Searchfortreasure's Blog

…a Bible student's notes…

Contentment is a way of life….

Contentment is a way of life

Hebrews 13:5 Let your conversation [conduct, behavior, or manner of living] be without covetousness; and be content with such things as ye have: for (because or for this reason) he (the Lord) hath said, I will never leave thee, nor forsake thee.

 Contentment defined

Matthew 25:9 But the wise answered, saying, Not so; lest there be not enough (this word is also translated “content” in Lk.3:14;  1Tim.6:8 ; Heb.13:5 ; 3Jn.10) for us and you: but go ye rather to them that sell, and buy for yourselves.

 The confession of contentment

Psalm 23:1  The LORD is my shepherd; I shall not want.

 We learn to be content

Philippians 4:11-13 Not that I speak in respect of want: for I have learned, in whatsoever state I am, therewith to be content. 12 I know (because I learned) both how to be abased (humbled or reduced), and I know how to abound (prosper or to have abundance): every where and in all things I am instructed both to be full and to be hungry, both to abound (to have plenty) and to suffer need (living without). 13 I can do all things (be content in whatsoever state) through Christ which strengtheneth me.

 We deserve nothing

Job 1:21-22 And [Job] said (after all his material possessions were taken away and all his children died), Naked came I out of my mother’s womb, and naked shall I return thither: the LORD gave (Job’s possessions and his children), and the LORD hath taken away (God does not owe us anything); blessed be the name of the LORD. 22 In all this Job sinned not, nor charged God foolishly.

 Only one thing is needful & Not Taken Away

Luke 10:42 Jesus said, “But one thing is needful: and Mary hath chosen that good part, which shall not be taken away from her.”

 Hearing His Word

Luke 10:39 And she had a sister called Mary, which also sat at Jesus’ feet, and heard his word.

 The word of the kingdom

Matthew 13:19 “When any one heareth the word of the kingdom…”

 The kingdom truths produce contentment

Matthew 13:45-46 Again, the kingdom of heaven is like unto a merchant man, seeking goodly pearls: 46 Who, when he had found one pearl of great price, went and sold all that he had, and bought it.

Be content with the basics

1 Timothy 6:7-8  For we brought nothing into this world, and it is certain we can carry nothing out. 8 And having food and raiment (clothing or shelter) let us be therewith content.

 Contentment manifested

Hebrews 10:34 For ye had compassion of me in my bonds, and took joyfully the spoiling of your goods (contentment manifested), knowing (not feeling) in yourselves that ye have in heaven a better and an enduring substance

 Complaining is a sign of discontentment

Matthew 20:10-11 But when the first came, they supposed that they should have received more (not content with their wages); and they likewise received every man a penny. 11 And when they had received it, they murmured against the good man of the house.

 

 

October 30, 2013 Posted by | Contentment, How I Read in Context, Ladies Bible Study Notes, Learning to read - accurately, Studying Hebrews | | Leave a comment