Searchfortreasure's Blog

…a Bible student's notes…

How Old Would You Be if You Did Not Know How Old You Are?

Now that’s another take on that “Real Age” test you find on the internet!

The above title is in an email making the rounds.  I admit liking “sayings.”   I must have a Mary Englebreit wall calendar every year, tear off my favorite ones at the end of the year, and pin them up on my bulletin board – or anywhere else in my house that has a blank wall.  Can’t stand boring walls!  I used to think I was really odd about this boring -walls thing.  Why, I grew up with interesting walls.  My mom believed in them.  She was a plate collector – for the walls, as well as in the china cabinets.   She even put up wall paper on the ceiling with a design of ivy on a trellis.  As a kid I thought that was too much, but it was awfully fun to watch people’s eyes when they first entered the house!  When I heard the gravels crunch in the driveway, I headed to the living room so as not to miss the occasion of the first visitor since the wallpappering was finished.  They really attempted to talk straight at you, but their eyes kept leaping up to peek at the ceiling.  I tried to time how long it took for their first sneak peak, but alas, my stop watch was too slow.    The comments and tone of voice in attempting to “compliment” mom’s achievement when it became obvious they had to say something, was even better.  I love people!  Great entertainment!  Much better than television.  Talk about surround sound!  We were surrounded with entertaining walls and ceilings, and yes, the floors with oriental rugs.  Television screens, no matter how large, cannot compare with that!

Funny how my environment entertained me.  The walls.  The people.  My mom also believed in good hospitality, and she was excellent at it.  Pastors, with their families.  Missionaries.  School teachers.  Everybody from church.  Co-workers of my dad.  Ah – my dad.  He had a habit of dropping food on his good suit pants that he wore daily to work at Happy Valley Farms where he was credit manager.  Sanford Leake was his “boss.”  Mom loved to try to favorably impress Sanford and Susie Leake.  One time, at the Red Food, mom ran in for something she needed for supper.  She was in her every-day house dress with an unkept look and never did want to see anyone she knew much less someone she must impress.  Sure ’nuff, she spied Susie Leake – hopefully, before Mrs. Leake had seen her.  I found mom hugging the bread in the bread aisle, all bent down as if looking for the right loaf on the bottom shelf, and asked, “What in the world are you doing?”  “Shhhhhh, I’m hiding from Mrs. Leake.  You look out for her and tell me when she leaves the store.”  So – my mom provided great entertainment even in the grocery store.  I got to be the lookout.  How cool is that!

Now, where was I?……Oh, so – dad had an hour for lunch, so, home he came every day.  One day he brought Mr. Leake home with him – unknowingly to my mom, he was right behind my dad.  (No worry.  Mom also believed in having plenty of food always available, at any time.)  Dad always entered the side door which was close to the kitchen and when mom heard him coming, she hollered out, “Take your pants off, George, lunch is ready.”

Yes, she did love to make an impression!

On my walls?  Plates – mom’s plates.  She had so many that my sister and I have too many and our kids have an overflow and many were sold in the estate sale.  What else?  ME posters:

“The cure for boredom is curiosity, there is no cure for curiosity.”

“Don’t count the days…make the days count.”

“Don’t let success go to your head or failure go to your heart.”

“Water and words are easy to pour but impossible to recover.”

“One good wish changes nothing.  One good decision changes everything.”

“There are many things in life that will catch your eye, but only a few will catch your heart…pursue these.”

MY FAVORITE:  “Every time a child is born, so is a grandmother.”

 

June 2, 2013 - Posted by | Pages from my journal

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

