Searchfortreasure's Blog

…a Bible student's notes…

Be Strong in THE Grace in Christ Jesus…

Take Strength from the Grace of God.”

This morning I needed a “word from the Lord.” I need Him every nanosecond and was asking Him how to “redeem the time” He has given me. I need to study, write out studies, establish designated prayer times, and time to read through the Bible – then, there are chores and educational-type reading, (reading “Time Travelers of the Bible”), fun reading, and listening to books (a C. S. Lewis book is cued on cd player – “Out of the Silent Planet”) And – daily I deal with pain management – and, I practice piano, teach a ladies Bible study, and go to church three times a week. There are also doctor appointments and spending time talking with my husband. I LOVE this life the Lord has given me! Somehow, I have let the days get unstructured. It’s time to “order my way aright.”

2 Timothy 2 is where my Bible opened. And there it was – His Word: “You, therefore, my child, be strong in the grace that is in Christ Jesus.” (NAS) The New English Bible phrase of this verse is written at the top of my page: “Take strength from the grace of God.”

Then Paul, in verses 1-13, gives us seven or eight examples of how to take strength from the grace of God. He uses “professions” as examples. They are:

  • a child,
  • teacher,
  • soldier,
  • athlete,
  • farmer,
  • Paul himself,
  • Jesus Christ’s resurrection affecting grace,
  • and how to “obtain” the salvation which is in Christ Jesus and share His glory.

In verse one, Paul names Timothy as his “child” – the word is not an infant, but one used to note a maturing child. To this maturing one, he makes the sweeping statement to “be strong in the grace that is in Christ Jesus.”

Grace is God’s strength and Christ’s power (in our weakness) to do His will and commandments. It is God’s very strength enabled in us to please Him – living our life of faith in the things to come. Grace is the strength that fuels endurance, hardships, and diligence in running the “lawful” race that is set before us. Grace is the strength to suffer for His name’s sake and His comfort for our afflictions. Grace is our “thorn in the flesh” to keep us from exalting ourselves because of the precious revelations He gives us concerning the mysteries of the kingdom of God (Heaven).

I’ll paste 2 Corinthians 12:7-10 for you to see the definitions of grace for yourself:

2Co 12:7 And because of the surpassing greatness of the revelations, for this reason, to keep me from exalting myself, there was given me a thorn in the flesh, a messenger of Satan to buffet me–to keep me from exalting myself!

2Co 12:8 Concerning this I entreated the Lord three times that it might depart from me.

2Co 12:9 And He has said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for power is perfected in weakness.” Most gladly, therefore, I will rather boast about my weaknesses, that the power of Christ may dwell in me.

2Co 12:10 Therefore I am well content with weaknesses, with insults, with distresses, with persecutions, with difficulties, for Christ’s sake; for when I am weak, then I am strong. (NAS)

May 17, 2013 - Posted by | 2 Timothy 2:1-13 | , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

