Searchfortreasure's Blog

…a Bible student's notes…

How to have a Blessed continuance of this life you’ve been given….

1 Corinthians 13:4-8a

Read these first:  Every reference to “faith” in Galatians –

Ga 1:23 But they had heard only, That he which persecuted us in times past now preacheth the faith which once he destroyed.
Ga 2:16 Knowing that a man is not justified by the works of the law, but by the faith of Jesus Christ, even we have believed in Jesus Christ, that we might be justified by the faith of Christ, and not by the works of the law: for by the works of the law shall no flesh be justified.
Ga 2:20 I am crucified with Christ: nevertheless I live; yet not I, but Christ liveth in me: and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by the faith of the Son of God, who loved me, and gave himself for me.
Ga 3:2 This only would I learn of you, Received ye the Spirit by the works of the law, or by the hearing of faith?
Ga 3:5 He therefore that ministereth to you the Spirit, and worketh miracles among you, doeth he it by the works of the law, or by the hearing of faith?
Ga 3:7 Know ye therefore that they which are of faith, the same are the children of Abraham.
Ga 3:8 And the scripture, foreseeing that God would justify the heathen through faith, preached before the gospel unto Abraham, saying, In thee shall all nations be blessed.
Ga 3:9 So then they which be of faith are blessed with faithful Abraham.
Ga 3:11 But that no man is justified by the law in the sight of God, it is evident: for, The just shall live by faith.
Ga 3:12 And the law is not of faith: but, The man that doeth them shall live in them.
Ga 3:14 That the blessing of Abraham might come on the Gentiles through Jesus Christ; that we might receive the promise of the Spirit through faith.
Ga 3:22 But the scripture hath concluded all under sin, that the promise by faith of Jesus Christ might be given to them that believe.
Ga 3:23 But before faith came, we were kept under the law, shut up unto the faith which should afterwards be revealed.
Ga 3:24 Wherefore the law was our schoolmaster to bring us unto Christ, that we might be justified by faith.
Ga 3:25 But after that faith is come, we are no longer under a schoolmaster.
Ga 3:26 For ye are all the children of God by faith in Christ Jesus.
Ga 5:5 For we through the Spirit wait for the hope of righteousness by faith.
Ga 5:6 For in Jesus Christ neither circumcision availeth any thing, nor uncircumcision; but faith which worketh by love.
 Ga 5:22 But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, longsuffering, gentleness, goodness, faith,
Ga 6:10 As we have therefore opportunity, let us do good unto all men, especially unto them who are of the household of faith.  (KJV)

What’s love got to do with faith?  Check out Gal. 5:6.  Love is the channel through which faith is energized!  Well, in that case, let me paste 1 Cor. 13:4-8a for you”

1Co 13:4 ¶ Love is patient, love is kind and is not jealous; love does not brag and is not arrogant,
1Co 13:5 does not act unbecomingly; it does not seek its own, is not provoked, does not take into account a wrong suffered,
1Co 13:6 does not rejoice in unrighteousness, but rejoices with the truth;
1Co 13:7 bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, endures all things.
1Co 13:8 ¶ Love never fails; (NAS)

So, let me put it like this:  When I say I love you, I am saying:

I am patient with you, and kind.

When I think of you, I have warmth of affection toward you.

I am happy when you benefit, and humble toward you.  I esteem you better than myself.

When I love you, I do not act unbecomingly, nor seek my own way.

I do not “get even” when suffering a “wrong” from you.  I do not keep an account of your wrongs.

I am self-sacrificing and not easily angered.

I do not rejoice at wrong-doing, however, I do rejoice with the truth.

And, I endure without divulging your wrongs.

I am full of trust, patience, and hope.

My love for you will never be driven off its course of seeking your good and will never be reduced to inactivity. 

Now, faith has a channel though which to work – for faith without works (a labor of love) is DEAD!

Without faith it is impossible to please God!

 

January 1, 2013 - Posted by | Pages from my journal | , ,

2 Comments »

  1. interesting thought… seems to have the right direction. We must have the Love of God in us, working through us. We must love like God loves.

    Comment by Darius | January 1, 2013 | Reply

  2. Reblogged this on Searchfortreasure's Blog.

    Comment by searchfortreasure | January 3, 2014 | Reply


Leave a Reply

