Searchfortreasure's Blog

…a Bible student's notes…

What’s in a Word….

The following is a repeat from 2009; but, I also wanted to tell you that I have sent many articles that I have written – or not – to my Kindle. I am so proud of myself! 🙂 Naw – it’s easy. Amazon makes everything they sell easy for the common man to use. I just had to follow instructions.

 What’s in a Word………

I wish I knew more about the origin of languages. I pray that our GRANDdaughter develops the love of words. My mom had taken Latin in high school, so she would even repeat the verb tenses in a “sing-song” voice as she cooked. I remember hearing her making sense of something she was reading, when she came to an unfamiliar word, by taking it apart to “cipher” its origin.

My grandmother lived with us – mom’s mom. She wrote poetry, having been published in several anthologies. She sent some of her poems to Nashville and they were recorded as hymns. She loved words and putting them together.

The love of words can be influenced by one’s background. Words, their usage, inflection, and meanings were important in our household; but I know from whence my deep-down love and adoration for God’s Word came – from Him, Whose law is perfect, restoring the soul. You can have this, also. Just ask! He delights in doing this for you.

I will give you a few verses for inspiration:

“Ps 12:6 The words of the LORD are pure words; As silver tried in a furnace on the earth, refined seven times.” “Pure” – each individual word refined (purified) 7 times – a perfect number.

Jer 15:16 Thy words were found and I ate them, And Thy words became for me a joy and the delight of my heart; For I have been called by Thy name, O LORD God of hosts.” – Words cause Jeremiah joy and delight. The study of words does this. It can for you, too.

“Pr 30:5 Every word of God is tested; He is a shield to those who take refuge in Him.” – God is a shield of protection to us as we know His Word.

Reminds me of Eph. 6:16 and Romans 10:17. We cannot say we have faith if we do not study and know God’s Word! As a child of God, you must grow past being spoon-fed. And, talk about junk food! Just what I read and run across in the every day world out there being “taught” as the Word is junk food! You can refer back to the post about “health” food for a little study on this subject; but to be healthy, you must devour healthy doctrine.

You are what you eat!

 

April 30, 2012 - Posted by | "Word of God", Learning to read - accurately, Newsy News & Random Thoughts, Pages from my journal

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

