Searchfortreasure's Blog

…a Bible student's notes…

Pain and Sufferings, part 2…

The 5/9/91 date is significant because we came back to Chattanooga from PA a month later on June 8, 1991. We had left on June 8, 1989 for a job change Bob felt was necessary. We arrived home exactly two years later – broke – no jobs – and facing a family crises. Page 74 in E. E.’s book, “A Path through Suffering” begins with a word I had highlighted in green – “Relinquishment…..”

The last paragraph begins with this sentence: “It is a merciful Father who strips us when we need to be stripped, as the tree needs to be stripped of its blossoms.”

Sounds severe to be stripped bare, doesn’t it? A severe mercy! A severe love!

Raw emotions followed us home. We were laid bare, open to more wounding and sufferings.

We are twenty years on this healing journey – emotional; but, what began as physical, has not retreated. (I firmly believe much of my physical pain would be here at my present age anyway, having inherited many maladies from my mom.) However, when the physical worsens, my emotions need attention, also. The two are so entwined, separation is impossible. I must – MUST – go to the Lord. Only He has the balm for my spirit, soul, and body.

And, sometimes, he reminds me of a book still left on a shelf.

(Not so many there since I have a Kindle.)

Blessed Relinquishment!  He Controls All.  

Job 40:1 ¶ Then the LORD said to Job,
 2 “Will the faultfinder contend with the Almighty? Let him who reproves God answer it.”
 3 Then Job answered the LORD and said,
 4 “Behold, I am insignificant; what can I reply to Thee? I lay my hand on my mouth.
 5 “Once I have spoken, and I will not answer; Even twice, and I will add no more.”
 6 ¶ Then the LORD answered Job out of the storm, and said,
 7 “Now gird up your loins like a man; I will ask you, and you instruct Me.
 8 “Will you really annul My judgment? Will you condemn Me that you may be justified?
 

October 9, 2011 - Posted by | Health Crises, Newsy News & Random Thoughts, Pages from my journal

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

