Searchfortreasure's Blog

…a Bible student's notes…

Learning to play hymns…

Conversations with my GRANDDaughter, part 26…
Applications to college are usually submitted during or near the end of one’s junior year in high school. This can be done later, of course; or, like your granddad, just show up – no admission papers submitted, no recommendations from his pastor or school, no SAT score – had not taken it, and NO MONEY! No IQ! 🙂 However, the Lord was at work in his ignorance – and that’s another story.
I wanted to go to the University of Georgia. My mom tried to talk me into Shorter Teacher’s College, Bryan, etc. But, she set her heart on Carson-Newman.
I got accepted at UGA.
In the meantime, mom decided that Martha and I needed to take piano lessons focused on hymn playing for church. Patty Conn Mulligan was our church pianist at the time and was not taking students. She had two small children and had “retired.” Mom talked her into taking only two students – my sister and me. We took for two school years. I had already had piano lessons since third grade, but was nowhere near interested in it, yet, it had prepared me with the bare bones.
I loved and respected Patty Mulligan. I enjoyed learning to play hymns. I remember this part of my life with blessed memories.
My mom, however, was at work in the background. If she could not get me to apply at Carson-Newman, perhaps Patty could. They connived behind my back and Patty convinced me that I needed to apply to CN. I did. I went.
Perhaps you have read the rest of this story. It is on my website.
https://searchfortreasure.wordpress.com/2010/01/25/bob-is-beginning-his-journey-into-ps-9010b/
https://searchfortreasure.wordpress.com/2009/12/14/wrestling/

August 3, 2011 - Posted by | Conversations with my GRANDdaughter

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

