Searchfortreasure's Blog

…a Bible student's notes…

Throw a party when you encounter various trials…

Conversations with my GRANDDaughter, part 25…
I haven’t told you yet about my church life at 16.
Mom believed one must go to church in their community. Dry Valley Baptist was the first Baptist church from our house. It was a shouting, noisy church. All men down front prayed aloud at the same time and shouting was intermittent throughout the service. The music was Stamps Baxter, so mom and dad bought Baptist Hymnals for the church. Unused. Boys and girls could not go to the same picnic. My parents did not know this. They invited both. In my “teen” years, they decided that it would be better for their children to be in a more familiar situation to them.
Brainerd Baptist was forming a mission church in a little white building on So. Seminole Drive. They needed deacons and other workers to build up the attendance. We all joined. I had been baptized at Dry Valley when I was 9 years old.
Being one of the few young people there, I got a wide experience to draw from for the rest of my life. When an adult woman’s Sunday School teacher was absent, I was asked to teach – mostly a spur of the moment occasion. I played the piano and led a “primary” choir. I was a GA – Girl’s Auxiliary. (I liked this least of all because there was a lot of memorization.)
I did not know that I would become pianist at this church.
I did not know that our wedding shower would be held there, as well as our wedding.
I did not know that our firstborn would be baptized there.
I did not know we would move out of town and be back 12 years later, and asked to teach a ladies S. S. class there two months before we got back into town.
I did not know that before the church year was out I would be told that I could not teach my class another Sunday – because I had not kept to the lessons in the quarterly. They didn’t mention the Bible as required reading.
I did not know that my dad would come to my defense in a called deacons’ meeting and be treated very poorly and undeservedly.
I didn’t know what I would say, when we all got in the car that Sunday and Robert asked me, “Well, mom, what are you going to do now?”
I didn’t know that my word study on the book of James would come out of my mouth, saying: “I am going to throw a party. Let’s celebrate. Where do you want to go?”
“McDonald’s , it is!”
Jas 1:2 ¶ “Consider it all joy, my brethren, when you encounter various trials”
My paraphrase: “Throw a party…”

August 2, 2011 - Posted by | Conversations with my GRANDdaughter

2 Comments »

  1. I good remembery. We did not know that the Lord had to remove us from this church so He could “put” us somewhere else.

    Comment by Bobberd | August 2, 2011 | Reply

  2. Yes, to be put in another place and be called before the deacon board.

    Comment by searchfortreasure | August 2, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

