Searchfortreasure's Blog

…a Bible student's notes…

Stealing and Screaming…..

Conversations with my GRANDdaughter, part 17…

We headed to Hanover, NH, with car piled to the max with luggage and even a carrier on top of the car, filled to the brim. We would be staying two weeks, so we needed more clothes than a week’s stay in Florida, and I’m rather sure mom took Mrs. Hodge with us – one of mom’s best friends. We would only be seeing Dad when he slipped away for a few minutes during the day and on the weekend. Our days were spent in shopping – and not at the mall. Weren’t any, but even if there were that was never mom’s favorite place to shop. No, we rode the back roads, looking for yard sales, estate sales, auctions, good seasonal fruit, and genuine bargains. One time, in Vermont, we did pass through a little town and mama spied a “SALE” sign on a small store selling pocket books – as we called our purses back then. Eureka! We hit pay dirt! All pocket books were $2 each, or was it a dollar. Dirt cheap. I do wish I could remember how many mom bought; but, the whole family – extended family – friends – got pocket books for Christmas, birthdays, that year. I could pick out any that I wanted. Still, to this day, I would rather shop for purses than anything else. I’m always on the lookout for just the right one – or was, I no longer shop for anything any more – except at Amazon. The manufacturers don’t make the perfect purse on purpose. Then we wouldn’t buy all the ones that don’t please us for one reason or another.

Mama found a “dime store” type building, filled with “what nots.” You would probably understand it as a flea-market type store filled with “this n’ that.”

We all separated to do our own exploring and mom didn’t like to be interrupted when she was “in her bargain zone.” But, I had found a piece of what looked like to be fur of some kind. It was rather large for the use I wanted to make of it, but the price was right. $2. I wanted to make doll clothes for my dolls. (I knew how to sew – by hand, and on mama’s machine.) Yep, I was still doing that kind of thing and still reading Nancy Drew mysteries.

I wanted it bad enough to interrupt my mom. She hardly glanced at it, if at all, saying, “If they will take 50 cents, you can have it.” They did.

My mom was a master at lowering prices. Really! The whole family would agree with me. One time at the farmer’s market down on 11th Street, she kept pestering the guy for a lower price on his cantaloupes, just wearing his patience thin, until he said, “Aw, lady, I’ll be closed in 15 minutes, why don’t ‘cha just come back and steal ’em!”

I have realized as I’ve typed that I never remember being bored, especially in the summer times. Vacations took a week or two weeks at most, for our travel away from home and the rest was spent in picking, canning, freezing, sewing, reading, and chores – and I went to work at 15. We did not have air-conditioning. The windows were wide open – sometimes with a fan stuck in them. I remember lying on my bed, reading Nancy Drew’s adventures, with the breeze cooling me. I became an “inside person” during the hottest days. I even imagined myself as a writer. My desk was in front of a window and I sat there writing stories that, later, I buried in the back yard – as treasure. (I’ve always been interested in “treasure.” Comes in handy, too, when studying the Bible!)

Contented, is the way I remember myself – at home.

Mom loved blackberries. There was very good picking up behind my grandmother’s house. Mama would brave chiggers and briers for the luscious berries – but snakes would send her scrambling back to safety. So, daddy told her that when she got to the blackberry patch to holler really, really, loud and the snakes would vacate the premises. He said it with his huge, toothy grin, but she believed him and her screams could be heard all over that Dry Valley.

July 21, 2011 - Posted by | Conversations with my GRANDdaughter, Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

