Searchfortreasure's Blog

…a Bible student's notes…

“The Shadow Knows”…

Conversations with my GRANDdaughter, part 9…..

Sarah wrote on my FB wall: “What was it like when you were 16?”

Let’s see, that was 1958 and I would be getting married in 1962 – which had not even entered my mind; and, by the way, your granddad had graduated high school and entered Carson-Newman college (where I would be attending in 1960). God is always working in the backgrounds in, through, and around your life. You will, however, need His wisdom.

So, let’s see:

Average Cost of new house $12,750.00
Average Monthly Rent $92.00
Average Yearly Wages $4,600.00
Cost of a gallon of Gas 25 cents

Toyota cars go on sale in The US

The first Trans Atlantic passenger jetliner service begins with flights between London and New York on the new British Comet Jet

Elvis Presleyis inducted into the Army. (This was a BIG news item for oodles of girls – not me. I was not allowed to watch Elvis nor go to any of his movies. I did have some of his records – on 45s and 78s – ask John what that means.

Eisenhower was president.

The Wham-O company introduces the Hula Hoop; over 100 million are sold.

  • The Broadway musical “My Fair Lady” opens in London. I saw it on Broadway in New York City in the summer of ’59.

Popular Films (It wasn’t our habit to go to movies, but I have seen these on TV since then.)

  • The Bridge on the River Kwai
  • South Pacific

Popular Singers

  • Elvis Presley
  • Billie Holiday
  • Ricky Nelson
  • Frank Sinatra
  • The Everly Brothers
  • Ella Fitzgerald
  • Jerry Lee Lewis (I remember this guy because he played the piano, but I did not have any of his records. I’m pretty sure I had most of the others.)

Popular TV Programs:

Candid Camera

The Ed Sullivan Show

The Jack Benny Show

Alfred Hitchcock Presents

(You know that we didn’t have a TV until I was 13, and we didn’t watch it as habit, nor was it on all day. I could watch one program a week and I think I chose “The Hit Parade.” We did not watch the Ed Sullivan Show because he had on people like the Beatles and Elvis. But, please know that I did not view this situation as unusual nor did I feel deprived.

Imagine a teenager without a sulky attitude.

I loved listening to the radio shows. Yep – shows on the radio. I saw them in my mind and to this day, I am thoroughly convinced listening to good books, including the Bible, is second only to reading them on a hard copy.

I listened to, “The Shadow Knows” and such like. One time at the downtown library I found that these programs were available to check out on cassettes. I did and loved every minute. “The eyes of man are never satisfied.” So, I was never unhappy because of not having something I had seen on TV. My wardrobe was modest, yet in style. The labels on my clothes were all inside the garment. I was not conscious of whether I had on a brand name, hence, we had no competition in our fashions.

Imagine a contented teenager!

July 11, 2011 - Posted by | Conversations with my GRANDdaughter

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

