Searchfortreasure's Blog

…a Bible student's notes…

Why your name is “Sarah”…

I hope you are following my ramblings. Now, let’s see, where was I? (We old folks say that a lot.)

The Lord designed a wonderful, low humidity, full of sunshine day for writing on the porch – June 30th, Thursday. GRANDdad is cutting Willodean’s grass this morning and the TVA contractors are working under their lines today with noisy trucks, saws, and bush hogs. Rusty is lying in the rays of sunshine on the porch with me, barking whenever he hears them talking. I will like it much more when they break for lunch. I love quiet. You already know what comes next! This day was written in the Books before there was one of them.

Your last question was, “Why were you named, Mary?” So, I thought this would be a good time to tell you how you name came to be “Sarah Elizabeth” from my point of view.

With our feminine names being only two and alternating generations, why is your name not “Mary Elizabeth.” I carried my grandmother’s name and so should you had not I “broke” with tradition. Your mother is going to be 40 in November, and when I was pregnant with her (didn’t know she was a “her” back then – no untrasound) I had been studying about the Lord’s return, setting up His Kingdom, etc. and I ran across a verse in Psalms that spoke of our Lord’s Joy. You know He took lightly the shame of the cross because He looked forward to the joy set before Him – that will be when His mission is finally accomplished in a Kingdom ruled by His government (of which we are now “running for office” in this coming Kingdom, if we do not run for office in today’s government and study on how to do this).

This “JOY” will be manifested in what the Bible calls, “morning.” It will be the dawn of the 7th day. It is scheduled to be soon, but 40 years ago, I was thinking that this day may not begin in my lifetime, but, certain it would in your mother’s. Thus the verse: “Weeping may last for the night, But a shout of joy [comes] in the morning.” Psalm. 30:5b And,I pray earnestly that she lives up to her name!

Now, since I broke tradition by naming her “Joy Elizabeth,” she re-established it with naming you “Sarah Elizabeth.” But, that’s not the only reason. Her grandmother’s name is same as yours, your great grandma. (And, you have your great-great grandmother’s day of birth – the first full day of summer.) However, Sarah is fraught with Biblical meaning. It means, “princess.” And, lo, I long for you to be a princess in our Lord’s court – made up of his faithful believers.

And, “Sarah” is mentioned in 1 Peter, chapter 3 as having “daughters” of faith and submission with a meek, gentle, and quiet spirit – your demeanor of personality. I’ll print it here in hopes you will read all of it:

1Pe 3:1 ¶ In the same way, you wives, be submissive to your own husbands so that even if any [of them] are disobedient to the word, they may be won without a word by the behavior of their wives, 2 as they observe your chaste and respectful behavior. 3 And let not your adornment be [merely] external–braiding the hair, and wearing gold jewelry, or putting on dresses; 4 but [let it be] the hidden person of the heart, with the imperishable quality of a gentle and quiet spirit, which is precious in the sight of God. 5 For in this way in former times the holy women also, who hoped in God, used to adorn themselves, being submissive to their own husbands. 6 Thus Sarah obeyed Abraham, calling him lord, and you have become her children if you do what is right without being frightened by any fear.

July 8, 2011 - Posted by | Conversations with my GRANDdaughter

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

