Searchfortreasure's Blog

…a Bible student's notes…

Fervent Prayer, part 5…

Our Colorado kids were here all last week and they were delightful.  The times with them just get better and better.  Our son is in “remission” from his Chron’s disease.  He – and Lesa, too – painted pottery at our GRANDdaughter’s friends’ birthday party.  I had a long discussion with Robert about prophecy and the Kingdom. 

Sarah had a week-long celebration of her 16th birthday – literally!  She is our only GRANDchild.  Her mom planned a whole week of events she thought Sarah would enjoy.

Somehow I have injured my back, right leg, and both shoulders.  It is terrifying pain and robs my mind of clear thoughts.  I know of no “fixes” short of surgery and pain meds with side effects that are not worth the temporary “help” they might provide.  I suffer and wait upon the Lord.

I wanted to tell you one more thing about fervent prayer and Luke 18:1-8.  After doing a word study of this portion of scripture, I found that the Amplified version is quite accurate for these verses.  Please pay attention to verse 5:

Yet because this widow continues to bother me, I will defend and protect and avenge her, lest she give me intolerable annoyance and wear me out by her continual coming or at the last she come and rail on me or assault me or strangle me.

Look at the intensity of this widow’s request!  Now, that’s FERVENT! – “rail on me – assault me – strangle me.”

The Greek word for this expression is only used in one other place in the N. T. : 

1Co 9:27  But [like a boxer] I buffet my body [handle it roughly, discipline it by hardships] and subdue it, for fear that after proclaiming to others the Gospel and things pertaining to it, I myself should become unfit [not stand the test, be unapproved and rejected as a counterfeit].  (Amp.)

See it?  In KJV, it is “buffet.”

Now, can you put “fervent” in perspective and define it?  This is a severe discipline for our prayer life – yea, ALL of our life.  Are you fervently praying?

June 27, 2011 - Posted by | Fervent prayer

1 Comment »

  1. O Father, teach us to pray with such fervency.

    Comment by Bob Patterson | June 28, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

