Searchfortreasure's Blog

…a Bible student's notes…

Forgive me the same way I forgive ___________…

The other morning I got up with a “bad attitude” toward my husband.  That meant that I had let something get past me unsettled – unsettled between my Lord and me – no matter what was settled or not between Bob and me.  This attitude didn’t even “dawn” upon me until I met with the Lord at His assigned place and time – first thing in the mornings.  And, wouldn’t ya’ know, the Lord was faithful to remind me when I was asking for forgiveness of sins because of His Son’s precious blood upon the mercy seat, that He said, “So – you want me to forgive you just like you forgave Bob?”

“Uh, let me get back to You on that.”     “No, I need forgiveness now!  And so does he.  I want You to wipe his slate as clean as I want mine to be clean!”

Of course, He just used His own Words, from His “breathed,” living Book to speak to me.  There it was.  In my readings.  The disciples’ prayer.  Here it is from the Amplified:  

Mat 6:9 Pray, therefore, like this: Our Father Who is in heaven, hallowed (kept holy) be Your name.

Mat 6:10 Your kingdom come, Your will be done on earth as it is in heaven.

Mat 6:11 Give us this day our daily bread.

Mat 6:12 And forgive us our debts, as we also have forgiven (left, remitted, and let go of the debts, and have given up resentment against) our debtors.

Mat 6:13 And lead (bring) us not into temptation, but deliver us from the evil one. For Yours is the kingdom and the power and the glory forever. Amen.

Mat 6:14 For if you forgive people their trespasses [their reckless and willful sins, leaving them, letting them go, and giving up resentment], your heavenly Father will also forgive you.

Mat 6:15 But if you do not forgive others their trespasses [their reckless and willful sins, leaving them, letting them go, and giving up resentment], neither will your Father forgive you your trespasses.

 “Need I say more, Mary?”

“No, but let me say, ‘Forgive me exactly the way I forgive Bob!'”

May 16, 2011 - Posted by | Just for Women, Pages from my journal

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

