Searchfortreasure's Blog

…a Bible student's notes…

I’ve had a request…

…..to write about promises – God’s promises when we are in tremendous hard places – no way out – no way to remain in – kind of places.  Memorization comes easier for this friend than for me.  I have heard her pray God’s Word.  I have heard her quote long passages.  I can only imagine what she has put away in her heart so that she may not sin against God. 

I have more than one friend in one of God’s hard places.  I know their circumstances.  They know God’s word better than me – they regularly instruct and encourage me! 

The request remains……..write about God’s Promises in Hard Places.

What about the hard places that are our own fault!  Elisabeth Elliot has written…”These griefs are hard indeed to bear, for we feel we might easily have avoided them.  We have no one to blame but ourselves, and there isn’t much consolation there….The Lamb of God, slain for us, has borne all of our griefs and carried all of our sorrows, no matter what their origin.”   

PRAISE HIM!!

I have written somewhere on this site about “dying to self.”  Hard places are designed to provide incentives for dying to self.  In these times, I remind myself to ‘DIE FAST!”  Most of my sorrows in these cases is because I want my will and think I know what to tell God that His will is – for someone else!  E. E. – again – “To be transformed into the image of Christ, I must begin to do the will of the Father in the same place where He began: He emptied Himself.”

Okay, been there, done that, you say?

I go to my husband, “Bob, you’ve been studying and meditating upon God’s covenants and promises, how’s that coming, and what did you learn?”

“Hebrews 7:25.”

“That’s it?”

“Yep.”  Then, he quoted this part:  “He is able……!”

 Heb 7:25 “…..He is able to save (protect & deliver) to the uttermost those who come to God through Him, seeing that He ever lives to plead for them.”  (Weymouth translation)

April 12, 2011 - Posted by | Newsy News & Random Thoughts

1 Comment »

  1. WOW and AMEN!

    Comment by Bob Patterson | April 12, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

