Searchfortreasure's Blog

…a Bible student's notes…

One Things….

I LOVE THIS VERSE!  Wrote about it about this time last year.  I’m pasting it here for ya’ll again.  Treat this kindly and reverently.  It is Wonderful!

I’ve been a’thinkin’……

Saturday, April 3, 2010 – just so you know we are back to the present day:

Been meditating on “Stand fast.”  It’s mentioned 12 times in 6 verses in the New Testament; and this is the King James translation.  But, I am intrigued with how one can stand and make it fast at the same time!  (Those of you without a sense of humor, maybe I’d better say, “without a warped sense of humor,” are saying “Duh!” right now.)  Okay – I’ll go on to some other oddities that I have noticed and get more serious and don’t write me about “stand fast.”  I really know what it means.  Now:

Ps. 27:4 (NAS) – “One thing I have asked from the LORD, that I shall seek:  that I may dwell in the house of the LORD all the days of my life, to behold the beauty (lit.: delightfulness) of the LORD, and to meditate (lit.: inquire) in His temple.”

First time I read this I counted three things; but since God breathed “one thing,” I reread to discover that beholding the delightfulness of the Lord and meditating, inquiring in His temple” would be what David would be doing when he was dwelling in the house of the Lord every day of his life.  He only had to seek “one thing” – to dwell in the house of the Lord – the rest would be the result. 

(It was in 1970 that I discovered this little verse with its jewels and I made it “my” verse and desire.)

Another “one thing” is Philippians 3:13 & 14 (NAS) – “Brethren, I do not regard myself as having laid hold of it yet; but one thing I do: forgetting what lies behind and reaching forward to what lies ahead, I press on toward the goal for the prize of the upward call of God in Christ Jesus.”  Again, I could number 3 things here.  However, the “one thing” is pressing on toward the goal for the prize of the upward calling – meaning that what was behind and reaching forward to what lies ahead is all ONE motion, or attitude, or act of the will, along with “pressing on.”  I have heard this verse misused so many times!  “Well, you know, Paul said to forget all the stuff in our past and press on.”  Read in the preceeding verses what Paul counted as “dung.”  His successes!  Things that were actually “gains” to his career.  His confidences “in the flesh.”  His own righteousnesses. 

Again, there was only “one thing” to be accomplished – and, it is done all in one motion, one decision, one determination.

In John 20, Martha thinks Jesus does not care that she is left doing all the serving (even though this was her home and she had invited the guests) and asks the Lord to tell Mary to help her.  But, He doesn’t tell Mary to help her worried sister, He tells Martha something much more important: “  Luk 10:42 (KJV)  “But one thing is needful (as an employment): and Mary hath chosen that good part (participation), which shall not be taken away from her.”   Back up to verse 39 and you will discover what Mary was participating in – listening to the Lord’s word, seated at His feet.

And, at the top of today’s Daily Light reading is 2 Peter 3:8 –”But, beloved, be not ignorant of this one thing, that one day is with the Lord as a thousand years, and a thousand years as one day.”   Comments on this one need be for another time, and I may have already written about it earlier in my blogging.  For now:  beware that you are not ignorant of this one thing because day 6 is about over!

One more thing! I want to address the one motion aspect that you must use in other verses, like: James 4:7.  In studying this verse, it needs to read for our understanding like this: “Submit to (put yourselves under and in obedience to) God and withstanding the adversary, he will be fleeing from you.” 

I keep hearing the above verse quoted out of context.  “Resist the devil and he will flee from you.”  Submitting to and obeying God is the “one thing” to do in this verse; and in doing that, the rest of the verse will be taking place.  Read the chapter for context.  Read the whole book of James for context.  Read the whole Bible for context.  Know the ONLY ONE theme of the Bible.  Takes place right from the beginning:  “GOD SAID…” and the adversary has ONLY ONE aim: “HATH GOD SAID?…..

April 2, 2011 - Posted by | Pages from my journal, Reading the Psalms

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

