Searchfortreasure's Blog

…a Bible student's notes…

Newsy News & Pages from my notebook…

Today is testing day at the hospital.  I am in great pain as I cannot take my arthritis medication before surgery – it’s an NSAID and thins the blood.  It is absolutely necessary at times like these, that I draw strength from what I have already hidden in my heart and written in my journal.  🙂

The sections in my present notebook are: praise, admit, requests, thanks, listening, messages, N. T., O. T., proverbs, and “to do.”  As I open it, the back of the front cover is covered with “sticky notes.”  The first one reads, “Dearest Father, Today is Your’s!  You have plans for it – I accept its happenings as from you; and give you all my plans.  Direct my heart to concentrate on today only.  You have all my tomorrows as well.  Thank You!”  Another one is Ps. 38:9 – “All my longings lie open before You, O Lord; my sighing is not hidden from you.”

Before any of the particular sections is a “devotion” written by Elisabeth Elliot named, “First Be Quiet.”  Some of you will think I have never read such a thing!  But, oh, I have to spend double the quiet times before the Lord that I spend with people.  I still mess up!  I work daily, hourly, moment by moment, cultivating a quiet heart – a meek and quiet spirit.

The first page in the “praise” section is my handwritten copy of “Trust and Obey” – the hymn.  “That doesn’t sound like a praise hymn,” you say?  Oh, but the privilege of trusting and obeying deserves my highest praise.  The God of the universe desires I trust HIM with my fears and longings and sends and teaches me His Word, so that I can obey by leaving ALL to Him, Who loves me and gave Himself for me!

Act 20:32 And now [brethren], I commit you to God [I deposit you in His charge, entrusting you to His protection and care]. And I commend you to the Word of His grace [to the commands and counsels and promises of His unmerited favor]. It is able to build you up and to give you [your rightful] inheritance among all God’s set-apart ones (those consecrated, purified, and transformed of soul). (-from the Amplified version)

March 16, 2011 - Posted by | Newsy News & Random Thoughts, Pages from my journal, Sticky notes

1 Comment »

  1. AMEN & AMEN!!!

    Comment by Bob Patterson | March 16, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

