Searchfortreasure's Blog

…a Bible student's notes…

“Let Endurance be a finished product!”

Now, I would think that the “finished” product would be the “finished” product, wouldn’t you? – the “finished” product AFTER enduring.   I have studied James quite a bit.  There are other blogs on this site about James, but did I tell you that verse 4, part a, in the first chapter could be translated, “Let endurance be a finished product?”  That phrase goes round in my head about as much as “to whom much is given, much is required.”  I thank the Lord for these precious thoughts because, ya’ know what,? – they rush in when other thoughts pry at the door of my thoughts.  I am not even going to print them here.  They don’t stay long enough for me to remember.  I have not memorized a lot of Scripture, but many, many are hidden in my heart. 

“Thy Word have I hidden ( “treasured”) in my heart…” is in Ps 119:11.  The word for “word” here was translated in the Greek Bible of our Lord’s time, as “Logos.”  “Logos” is not the individual words, it is the whole thought of the words put together as a complete thought.  One puts them away in a safe place just like they put away safely their very precious treasures of jewelry, etc.  I have more of the Word hidden in my heart than I thought!  How GOOD is that!  I am opening my treasure chest and discovering truths, precious promises, and encouragement laid away there for “just a time of this.”

Going back to James – I know why endurance is to have its perfect work in me.  The result is that I can be “perfect and entire” – LACKING IN NOTHING!!  Not even lacking WISDOM!!  Just doesn’t get any better than that!!

I want to leave you with Vine’s comment about “entire:”

Entire  –  (G3648), “complete, sound in every part” (holos, “whole,” kleros, “a lot,” i.e., with all that has fallen by lot), is used ethically in 1Th_5:23, indicating that every grace present in Christ should be manifested in the believer; so Jam_1:4. In the Sept. the word is used, e.g., of a “full” week, Lev_23:15; of altar stones unhewn, Deu_27:6 and Jos_8:31; of a “full-grown” vine tree, useless for work, Eze_15:5; of the “sound” condition of a sheep, Zec_11:16

.

 

 

 

 

 

 

The corresponding noun

holokleria is used in Act_3:16, “perfect soundness.” The synonymous word teleios, used also in Jam_1:4, “perfect,” indicates the development of every grace into maturity.

 

 

The Hebrew.

shalom, “peace,” is derived from a root meaning “wholeness.” See, e.g., Isa_42:19, marg., “made perfect,” for text, “at peace”; cf. Isa_26:3. Cf. also Col_1:28 with 2Pe_3:14. 

March 1, 2011 - Posted by | Counting Joy, James, Newsy News & Random Thoughts, Pages from my journal

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

