Searchfortreasure's Blog

…a Bible student's notes…

The Destroyer of the Firstborn, part 10…

 Here are the references from Ezekiel that I promised. Ezekiel is full of angelic activity. It really needs to be read through in one sitting; but I will use portions that show two points:

    1. Ezekiel is taken back in time for the revelation of the rebellion and sins of His chosen first-born ones in Judah and Jerusalem.

    2. The angelic activity that surrounds the vision that Ezekiel SAW with his own eyes.

    Eze 1:3 the word of the LORD came expressly to Ezekiel the priest, son of Buzi, in the land of the Chaldeans by the river Chebar; and there the hand of the LORD came upon him.)

    Eze 1:26 – 28¶ Now above the expanse that was over their heads there was something resembling a throne, like lapis lazuli in appearance; and on that which resembled a throne, high up, was a figure with the appearance of a man. Then I noticed from the appearance of His loins and upward something like glowing metal that looked like fire all around within it, and from the appearance of His loins and downward I saw something like fire; and there was a radiance around Him. As the appearance of the rainbow in the clouds on a rainy day, so was the appearance of the surrounding radiance. Such was the appearance of the likeness of the glory of the LORD. And when I saw it, I fell on my face and heard a voice speaking.

    Chapter 2:1 – 10¶ Then He said to me, “Son of man, stand on your feet that I may speak with you!” 2 And as He spoke to me the Spirit entered me and set me on my feet; and I heard [Him] speaking to me. 3 Then He said to me, “Son of man, I am sending you to the sons of Israel, to a rebellious people who have rebelled against Me; they and their fathers have transgressed against Me to this very day. 4 “And I am sending you to them who are stubborn and obstinate children; and you shall say to them, ‘Thus says the Lord GOD.’ 5 “As for them, whether they listen or not–for they are a rebellious house–they will know that a prophet has been among them. 6 ¶ “And you, son of man, neither fear them nor fear their words, though thistles and thorns are with you and you sit on scorpions; neither fear their words nor be dismayed at their presence, for they are a rebellious house. 7 “But you shall speak My words to them whether they listen or not, for they are rebellious. 8 “Now you, son of man, listen to what I am speaking to you; do not be rebellious like that rebellious house. Open your mouth and eat what I am giving you.” 9 Then I looked, behold, a hand was extended to me; and lo, a scroll [was] in it. 10 When He spread it out before me, it was written on the front and back; and written on it were lamentations, mourning and woe. (NASB)

    Eze 8:1 – 3 ¶ And it came about in the sixth year, on the fifth day of the sixth month, as I was sitting in my house with the elders of Judah sitting before me, that the hand of the Lord GOD fell on me there. 2 Then I looked, and behold, a likeness as the appearance of a man; from His loins and downward there was the appearance of fire, and from His loins and upward the appearance of brightness, like the appearance of glowing metal. 3 And He stretched out the form of a hand and caught me by a lock of my head; and the Spirit lifted me up between earth and heaven and brought me in the visions of God to Jerusalem, to the entrance of the north gate of the inner court, where the seat of the idol of jealousy, which provokes to jealousy, was located.

    Chapter 1:1-11 ¶ Then He cried out in my hearing with a loud voice saying, “Draw near, O executioners of the city, each with his destroying weapon in his hand.” 2 And behold, six men came from the direction of the upper gate which faces north, each with his shattering weapon in his hand; and among them was a certain man clothed in linen with a writing case at his loins. And they went in and stood beside the bronze altar. 3 Then the glory of the God of Israel went up from the cherub on which it had been, to the threshold of the temple. And He called to the man clothed in linen at whose loins was the writing case. 4 And the LORD said to him, “Go through the midst of the city, [even] through the midst of Jerusalem, and put a mark on the foreheads of the men who sigh and groan over all the abominations which are being committed in its midst.” 5 ¶ But to the others He said in my hearing, “Go through the city after him and strike; do not let your eye have pity, and do not spare. 6 “Utterly slay old men, young men, maidens, little children, and women, but do not touch any man on whom is the mark; and you shall start from My sanctuary.” So they started with the elders who [were] before the temple. 7 And He said to them, “Defile the temple and fill the courts with the slain. Go out!” Thus they went out and struck down [the people] in the city. 8 Then it came about as they were striking and I [alone] was left, that I fell on my face and cried out saying, “Alas, Lord GOD! Art Thou destroying the whole remnant of Israel by pouring out Thy wrath on Jerusalem?” 9 Then He said to me, “The iniquity of the house of Israel and Judah is very, very great, and the land is filled with blood, and the city is full of perversion; for they say, ‘The LORD has forsaken the land, and the LORD does not see!’ 10 “But as for Me, My eye will have no pity nor shall I spare, but I shall bring their conduct upon their heads.” 11 Then behold, the man clothed in linen at whose loins was the writing case reported, saying, “I have done just as Thou hast commanded me.” (NASB)

    I have enjoyed this little side trip about angelic activities. I am saddened about the idolatry, perversion, etc. of this house of Israel – the very descendants of those who fled Egypt. Remember: Romans 15:4 For whatever was written in earlier times was written for our instruction, that through perseverance and the encouragement of the Scriptures we might have hope.

 

 

January 29, 2011 - Posted by | Angels |

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

