Searchfortreasure's Blog

…a Bible student's notes…

The Destroyer of the Firstborn, part 3…

 GOD ACTS PERSONALLY: Ex 11:4 ¶ And Moses said, “Thus says the LORD, ‘About midnight I am going out into the midst of Egypt, 5 and all the first-born in the land of Egypt shall die, from the first-born of the Pharaoh who sits on his throne, even to the first-born of the slave girl who is behind the millstones; all the first-born of the cattle as well.

Here, Lang has an interesting paragraph on Jehovah, God Himself, acting personally in judgment at four previous occasions: (a) God, Himself, dealt with Cain. (b) “Jehovah sat as King at the Flood” – Ps. 29:10. © when at Babel the whole race was set on its own exaltation, “Jehovah came down to see the city and tower which the children of men builded” – Gen. 11:5. (d) when two great cities were destroyed by fire from heaven Jehovah said: “I will go down and see whether they have done altogether according to the cry of it [angelic report concerning it, with application for judgment], which is come unto Me; and if not, I will know.” – Gen 18:21.

Now – back to our Israel and Egypt account and read these wonderful verses of God, Himself, acting personally concerning them. Ex 6:6 “Say, therefore, to the sons of Israel, ‘I am the LORD, and I will bring you out from under the burdens of the Egyptians, and I will deliver you from their bondage. I will also redeem you with an outstretched arm and with great judgment. 7 ‘Then I will take you for My people, and I will be your God; and you shall know that I am the LORD your God, who brought you out from under the burdens of the Egyptians. 8 ‘And I will bring you to the land which I swore to give to Abraham, Isaac, and Jacob, and I will give it to you for a possession; I am the LORD.'”

(I have a habit of reading these verses and revelling in them – just for me – applying them to the various and sundry trials the Lord has for me. There is a verse 9 that I do not want to apply: Ex 6:7 ‘Then I will take you for My people, and I will be your God; and you shall know that I am the LORD your God, who brought you out from under the burdens of the Egyptians.

Ex 6:9 So Moses spoke thus to the sons of Israel, but they did not listen to Moses on account of their despondency and cruel bondage.)

Ex 11:4 ¶ And Moses said, “Thus says the LORD, ‘About midnight I am going out into the midst of Egypt,

Ex 12:12 ‘For I will go through the land of Egypt on that night, and will strike down all the first-born in the land of Egypt, both man and beast; and against all the gods of Egypt I will execute judgments--I am the LORD.

Ex 12:23 “For the LORD will pass through to smite the Egyptians; and when He sees the blood on the lintel and on the two doorposts, the LORD will pass over the door and will not allow the destroyer to come in to your houses to smite you.

Tomorrow – “The Destroyer Acts.”

 

January 19, 2011 - Posted by | Angels |

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

