Searchfortreasure's Blog

…a Bible student's notes…

Nabal and Abigail, cont’d…

 Wanna’ know what David wrote while in that cave? We have it! It’s Psalm 142:

1 ¶ (Maskil of David, when he was in the cave. A Prayer.) I cry aloud with my voice to the LORD; I make supplication with my voice to the LORD.

2 I pour out my complaint before Him; I declare my trouble before Him.

3 When my spirit was overwhelmed within me, Thou didst know my path. In the way where I walk They have hidden a trap for me.

4 ¶ Look to the right and see; For there is no one who regards me; There is no escape for me; No one cares for my soul.

5 I cried out to Thee, O LORD; I said, “Thou art my refuge, My portion in the land of the living.

6 “Give heed to my cry, For I am brought very low; Deliver me from my persecutors, For they are too strong for me.

7 “Bring my soul out of prison, So that I may give thanks to Thy name; The righteous will surround me, For Thou wilt deal bountifully with me.”

(NASB)

This is one of David’s prayers when he was waiting to obtain the promised exalted throne as King of Israel! He has been anointed. He will take the throne. He is in a cave! A stronghold! He waits.

I don’t know how much time is between these two events in David’s life. Samuel has died. David and his men head down to the wilderness of Paran. His men help guard a wealthy man’s workers and the wealthy man refuses to give sustenance in return. Does this sound like the same David in chapter 24? The author of the above song? David is intent on avenging himself in this case? And not the other one?

1Sa 25:21 Now David had said, “Surely in vain I have guarded all that this man has in the wilderness, so that nothing was missed of all that belonged to him; and he has returned me evil for good.

1Sa 25:22 “May God do so to the enemies of David, and more also, if by morning I leave as much as one male of any who belong to him.”(David’s enemies and God’s enemies are considered one and the same.)

David will not touch Saul, God’s anointed, before the appointed time. He is willing to avenge himself, though, in this case against Nabal. Nabal is not God’s anointed – is he?

Permit me to interject some “merryisms” here, okay? Those harsh fools in the paths of our lives are not co-incidents, they are God-incidents. Testings of our faith. Make a habit of immediately turning to the Lord and say, “Speak, Lord, for thy servant heareth. Then – silently wait for His still small voice. Then – stand still and see the salvation of the Lord!

The “salvation” that God sent David, in this case, was a humble, wise, beautiful, wealthy woman. (I am LOLing. Is God good, or what! But, what I’m thinking is that He has never sent me a – OH, YES HE HAS – a Knight in shining Armour! And, HE’S COMING SOON!)

November 2, 2010 - Posted by | Just for Women, Nabal and Abigail

2 Comments »

  1. Mary ~ I never knew David wrote that Psalm! He journals his emotions like I do!!! Thank you! My enemies are all around me too and you have given me hope and a time to rejoice! Thank God for you!

    Comment by kim | November 2, 2010 | Reply

  2. OK, I meant, wrote that Psalm during that time! (te,he!)

    Comment by kim | November 2, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

