Searchfortreasure's Blog

…a Bible student's notes…

personal notes from 2 Peter, part 6…

 1st and 2nd Peter are very doctrinal books. You must know doctrine – it leads to faith behaviors! Or – it should. I have been a pastor’s wife and a home missionary’s wife (all the same husband), lived in 7 states, and interacted with many, many people who have no clue to doctrine. I must know doctrine for my daily living. Every thought, word, deed, is up for judgment – now, or later. It is imperative to have a standard of measurement that does not, will not, change. Circumstances change, God’s Word does not. Ahhh…thank you, Father!

Verses 5 and 11 of this first chapter have the same Greek word in them with different translations in the KJV. It is the word, “add” in v. 5 and, “ministered,” in verse 11. Same Greek word, meaning “supply,” as translated in the NAS. If I supply the qualities, mentioned in these verses, to my daily living now, then an abundant entrance into the age-during reign of our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ will be supplied to me. That’s worth being diligent to practice these things! (v.10)

There are a couple of methods of encouragement for me (us) in verses 12-18. One is continual reminders of these things; the other is testimony of what Peter (we, too) has seen and heard. (We can do this only if we study; then, we can testify as to what we have seen and heard from God’s Word.)

Continual Reminders – for my memory to establish me in the truth (v.12 – 15)

2Pe 1:12 ¶ Therefore, I shall always be ready to remind you of these things, even though you [already] know [them], and have been established in the truth which is present with [you.]

13 And I consider it right, as long as I am in this [earthly] dwelling, to stir you up by way of reminder,

14 knowing that the laying aside of my [earthly] dwelling is imminent, as also our Lord Jesus Christ has made clear to me.

15 And I will also be diligent that at any time after my departure you may be able to call these things to mind.

Personal testimony (teaching) from one’s own study and knowledge (v. 16 – 18)

2Pe 1:16 ¶ For we did not follow cleverly devised tales when we made known to you the power and coming of our Lord Jesus Christ, but we were eyewitnesses of His majesty.

17 For when He received honor and glory from God the Father, such an utterance as this was made to Him by the Majestic Glory, “This is My beloved Son with whom I am well-pleased”–

18 and we ourselves heard this utterance made from heaven when we were with Him on the holy mountain.

Note the theme that will motivate me for godly living – prophecy concerning the Glory, majesty, power, and coming of my Lord Jesus Christ.

October 12, 2010 - Posted by | 2 Peter notes, How I Read in Context, Learning to read - accurately

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

