Searchfortreasure's Blog

…a Bible student's notes…

Be separate!

 How can a person live in a “country” and also “be separate?”  NEVER stray from ambassadorship of Christ and remembering God’s promises.  One must remove themselves from untruth, no truth, no faith, darkness, Belial, and idols. Our flesh and spirit must be continually cleansed from all defilement while we perfect holiness in the fear of God.  (See 7:1)  In chapter 10, Paul tells us that even though we walk in the flesh, we do not war according to the flesh.  Ah ha!  A BATTLE!  And, in those verses, we learn that the battle takes place in our thoughts – we speculate and allow “lofty” things to rise up against the knowledge of God with obedience of Christ.

In the closing verses of chapter 6, Paul says, “we (the faithful elect) are the temple of the living God.”  Then he paraphrases 10 Old Testament references that he calls “promises” in verse 1, of chapter 7.  The references are:

(Exod 29:45) And I will dwell among the children of Israel, and will be their God.

(Lev 26:12) And I will walk among you, and will be your God, and ye shall be my people.

(Jer 31:1) At the same time, saith the LORD, will I be the God of all the families of Israel, and they shall be my people.

(Ezek 37:27) My tabernacle also shall be with them: yea, I will be their God, and they shall be my people.

(Exod 25:8) And let them make me a sanctuary; that I may dwell among them.

(Isa 52:11) Depart ye, depart ye, go ye out from thence, touch no unclean thing; go ye out of the midst of her; be ye clean, that bear the vessels of the LORD.

(2Sam 7:14) I will be his father, and he shall be my son. If he commit iniquity, I will chasten him with the rod of men, and with the stripes of the children of men:

(1Chr 17:14) But I will settle him in mine house and in my kingdom for ever: and his throne shall be established for evermore.

(Isa 43:6) I will say to the north, Give up; and to the south, Keep not back: bring my sons from far, and my daughters from the ends of the earth;

(Hos 1:10) Yet the number of the children of Israel shall be as the sand of the sea, which cannot be measured nor numbered; and it shall come to pass, that in the place where it was said unto them, Ye are not my people, there it shall be said unto them, Ye are the sons of the living God.

Keep in mind that these are promises to God’s elect – the Israel of God – where there is neither Jew nor Gentile, but one new man. (Eph 2:15) Having abolished in his flesh the enmity, even the law of commandments contained in ordinances; for to make in himself of twain one new man, so making peace;

What will hinder and even disqualify us from these promises?  A defiled flesh.  A defiled spirit.  No fear of God.

May 20, 2010 - Posted by | How I Read in Context, Learning to read - accurately

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

