Searchfortreasure's Blog

…a Bible student's notes…

continuing in chapter 2….

  I entitled this chapter: “I wrote to you so that…”

Paul had some painful experiences with this church.  He had taught them there for about a year and a half back in 51 A. D. and written them a letter before 1 Corinthians.  The best background to 1 and 2 Corinthians that I have found is on the Blue Letter Bible site:  http://www.blueletterbible.org/study/intros/corinthi.cfm.

I will paste an excerpt about Paul’s first letter from this site:

The contents of this “previous letter” (as it is called) are not completely known, yet some of it may be drawn from 1 Corinthians. First Corinthians is a response to a letter that Paul received from the Corinthian church, which they wrote probably as a response to this previous letter. The apostle writes in 1 Cor. 5:9, “I wrote to you in my letter not to associate with sexually immoral people.” All that can be concluded about the previous letter are the following three facts: the letter was written after Paul’s stay in Corinth, but before the composition of 1 Corinthians (c. AD 53–54); the letter dealt (at least in part) with the issue of associating with the sexually immoral; and his letter was misunderstood or not taken seriously.

And, before 2 Corinthians there had been another letter written by Paul called a “severe” letter delivered by Titus, in response to the reports Paul had received concerning this church’s sins and unwillingness to obey.  Paul then got word of their repentance and thus wrote 2 Corinthians to them as we have it recorded in our Bibles.  We only have two of the four letters recorded for us.  The BLB site is a good background read and I recommend you go there and read it.  Then, read chapter two again and underline and note the reasons Paul is writing this letter to them.

1 ¶ But I determined this for my own sake, that I would not come to you in sorrow again.

2 For if I cause you sorrow, who then makes me glad but the one whom I made sorrowful?

3 And this is the very thing I wrote you, lest, when I came, I should have sorrow from those who ought to make me rejoice; having confidence in you all, that my joy would be [the joy] of you all.

4 For out of much affliction and anguish of heart I wrote to you with many tears; not that you should be made sorrowful, but that you might know the love which I have especially for you.

5 ¶ But if any has caused sorrow, he has caused sorrow not to me, but in some degree–in order not to say too much–to all of you.

6 Sufficient for such a one is this punishment which was [inflicted by] the majority,

7 so that on the contrary you should rather forgive and comfort [him], lest somehow such a one be overwhelmed by excessive sorrow.

8 Wherefore I urge you to reaffirm [your] love for him.

9 For to this end also I wrote that I might put you to the test, whether you are obedient in all things.

10 But whom you forgive anything, I [forgive] also; for indeed what I have forgiven, if I have forgiven anything, [I did it] for your sakes in the presence of Christ,

11 in order that no advantage be taken of us by Satan; for we are not ignorant of his schemes.

12 ¶ Now when I came to Troas for the gospel of Christ and when a door was opened for me in the Lord,

13 I had no rest for my spirit, not finding Titus my brother; but taking my leave of them, I went on to Macedonia.

14 But thanks be to God, who always leads us in His triumph in Christ, and manifests through us the sweet aroma of the knowledge of Him in every place.

15 For we are a fragrance of Christ to God among those who are being saved and among those who are perishing;

16 to the one an aroma from death to death, to the other an aroma from life to life. And who is adequate for these things?

17 For we are not like many, peddling the word of God, but as from sincerity, but as from God, we speak in Christ in the sight of God.

(NASB)

 

April 25, 2010 - Posted by | How I Read in Context, Learning to read - accurately

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

