Searchfortreasure's Blog

…a Bible student's notes…

I’m cooking today….now, that’s newsworthy!

Tomorrow we will eat together after church.  I forgot to sign the list, but they know I will bring carrot souffle’.  It’s in the oven, so I will give y’all the recipe:

It was the Piccadilly recipe and huge, so I have modified it to feed – aw, I don’t know, perhaps 10-25 people, depending on portion size:

I buy the 5 lb. bag of baby carrots at Sam’s and just cook them to death.  They get done and never get soft enough not to splatter everything surrounding my mixer, including the walls and me.  Just do it.  The kitchen gets cleans up by the little fairies you have made friends with – like the tooth fairy!

1 and 1/2 pounds sugar – uh, three cups will do just fine.

1 Tablespoon baking powder

1 Tablespoon vanilla

1/4 cup flour

6 eggs

1/2 pound BUTTER!, softened 

Drain the carrots well.  While carrots are warm, add sugar, baking powder, and vanilla.  Whip with mixer until smooth – good luck on the smooth part.  Just leave a few hunks of carrots so folks won’t think it is sweet potatoes.

Add flour, mix well.  Whip eggs and add to flour mixture, blend well.  Add softened butter to mixture and blend well.  Pour mixture into baking dish about half full, as the souffle’ will rise. 

Bake in 350-degree oven about 1 hour or until top is a light golden brown.  Sprinkle lightly with powdered sugar before serving.

That’s what I copied.  I don’t follow directions very well when I think I have a better way.  Ya’ just don’t want to put those eggs in there while the carrots are still hot.  I get me a small bowl for the eggs and vanilla and a larger bowl for the dry ingredients and softened butter.  Then – dump together, little by little with the carrots and “paint” my kitchen with orange polka dots. 

My souffle’ doesn’t rise much, so I just pour as much as I want to into the dish.  But, I’m sneaky – I take the 9×13 dish to church and the little bitty one I leave at home.  It all gets eaten at church!

September 12, 2009 - Posted by | About

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

