Searchfortreasure's Blog

…a Bible student's notes…

WHER’ YER STARTIN’ FROM………concerning faith

Communication presents some interesting, and sometimes, hurtful situations when all parties involved do not “start from” the same premise.  I see my husband’s communication from his body as he walks.  He is limping, favoring one side, his shoulders are hugging his ears, his core muscles are stiff,  and he is flinching with every step.  His face is stoic and expressionless as he walks back to the lunch table.  I am truly concerned about what I am “reading” and what he is “communicating.”  I ask what is wrong, or where is he hurting.  He denies that he is hurting or that anything is wrong.  What I have “read” is a lie?!  My mistake is in pursuing my “reading.”   I give him my “evidence.”  He denies.  I am perceived by my children as a “nag” and I shut down.  With a broken spirit, I head toward the Lord. 

Oh, that we could communicate from the same premise!  It is the “being of one mind” fellowship that is sweet – and extremely rare.

The premise – at the present time – that concerns my communication with almost everyone in my sphere of family, friends, and foe is the subject of faith. 

Over thirty years ago, I was studying Galatians and paused at 2:20 and decided I desired this as my “life verse.”  The Lord took me seriously!  Praise Him!!  ( I am bawling! as I think – and He reminds me – of His patience, long-suffering, mercy, grace – which is the strength to endure – He keeps on giving me!)  He communicates fair and square – plainly, to me.  He reveals precious doctrines about the things to come to me so that I can please Him now.  I fail.  He doesn’t!  Thank Him!!

Ga 2:20 I am crucified with Christ: nevertheless I live; yet not I, but Christ liveth in me: and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by the faith of the Son of God, who loved me, and gave himself for me.

“I am crucified with Christ”  –  A crucified flesh cannot express itself – it is dead to satisfying its desires! ( Note that later in the verse the “flesh” does live – but not as “flesh” focused.)  If one is desiring to live by Biblically-defined faith, he/she will not be self-focused.  They will be “crucified” to how this situation will turn out for me, so to speak.  They seek what pleases God now for the attainment of future things in the age to come.  Living in what one hopes will be the outcome in a “now” situation is a veiled desire to control it, or at least a desire not to endure it.  (BTW – “am crucified” is in the passive voice.  It is done to the subject, “I.”  Our Lord did not nail Himself to His cross; but, He submitted Himself.  “Not my will, but Thine be done.”  The “crucified flesh” cries out to the Father “Thy will be done.”)

“nevertheless I live; yet not I” – This crucified body of flesh still lives – with another focus.

“but Christ liveth in me” – Where is Christ now?  He is literally in His resurrected body of flesh and bones, sitting at the right hand of His Father.  Look these up:  Acts 1:11; 13:33 – Romans 8:34 – Hebrews 1:3; 8:1; 10:12; 12:2 – 1 Peter 3:22.  So – you understand that Christ is not living in your heart – literally.  This means that you have your hope changed!   Col 1:27 “To whom God would make known what is the riches of the glory of this mystery among the Gentiles; which is Christ in you, the hope of glory.”  Comparing these verses explains that when Christ is living in you, you have the Hope of Glory!

To define the expression of “the hope of glory,” we must compare two scriptures that do the defining for us!

Mr 10:37 –  “They said unto him, Grant unto us that we may sit, one on thy right hand, and the other on thy left hand, in thy glory.”
Mt 20:21  – “And he said unto her, What wilt thou? She saith unto him, Grant that these my two sons may sit, the one on thy right hand, and the other on the left, in thy kingdom.”

Our hope is changed to the age to come – the kingdom – and to the hope of sharing in our Lord’s glory.  The term “Christ” means “anointed one” – the “messiah.”   Hebrews 2:5 settles the matter and must be a foundational verse that you understand.  “For unto the angels hath He not put in subjection (rulership) the world (the inhabited earth) to come, whereof we speak.”   The rulership in the “world to come” is the subject of Hebrews, yea, even all of the scriptures.  There is a “world to come.”  “Faith is the substance of things hoped for” in the coming age!  (Hebrews 11:1)  For now, we walk, think, speak, live by faith – NOT by sight,  which is focusing on our “now” situations and their outcome. (2Cor. 5:7)

“and the life which I now live in the (crucified) flesh”Faith is not an event!  It is even not to be gotten over and over.  IT IS A LIFESTYLE THAT MAKES DECISIONS BASED ON THE OBJECT OF MY FAITH: THE SON OF GOD!

“I live by (literally “in” – a fixed position) the faith of the Son of God,” – John 6:68 Then Simon Peter answered him, Lord, to whom shall we go? thou hast the words of eternal life (literally, “life for the age”).    Joh 6:69 And we believe and are sure that thou art that Christ, the Son of the living God.” 

Lu 1:32 He shall be great, and shall be called the Son of the Highest: and the Lord God shall give unto him the throne of his father David:
 Lu 1:33 And he shall reign over the house of Jacob for ever; and of his kingdom there shall be no end.
 Lu 1:34 Then said Mary unto the angel, How shall this be, seeing I know not a man?
 Lu 1:35 And the angel answered and said unto her, The Holy Ghost shall come upon thee, and the power of the Highest shall overshadow thee: therefore also that holy thing which shall be born of thee shall be called the Son of God.

John 1:49 “Nathanael answered and saith unto him, Rabbi, thou art the Son of God; thou art the King of Israel.”

HE WAS BORN TO BE THE  BEGOTTEN SON OF GOD – GIVEN THE THRONE OF DAVID WHICH WILL HAVE NO END  – HE SHALL REIGN – KING !  (To be thorough, we would have to devour chapters 1 and 2 of Hebrews at this point.  Can’t do that now; but you could make time and read for understanding on your own.)

FAITH IS  A PARTICULAR, CONTINUING LIFESTYLE I LIVE BECAUSE OF WHAT I HAVE COME TO KNOW ABOUT THE FUTURE THROUGH THE WORDS OF THE SON OF GOD. 

1Jo 5:5 – “Who is he that overcometh the world, but he that believeth that Jesus is the Son of God? 

  Re 21:7 -“ He that overcometh shall inherit all things; and I will be his God, and he shall be my son.”
 

August 25, 2009 - Posted by | on faith, Pages from my journal

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

