Searchfortreasure's Blog

…a Bible student's notes…

Wanna’ come along?………

A friend and I are meditating upon, studying, and chewing the cud of the book of James in the New Testament.  It was the first epistle written to a particular group of people whom he calls “brethren” 19 times in 5 chapters.  (You can read down in my blogs to learn the significance of the word “brethren.”)   And, why did I use the term “chewing the cud?”  My friend reminded me of it yesterday.   The cow was a “clean” animal in God’s instructions to the Jews.  Cows can be observed grazing, and then standing or lying down as they chew the cud.  They bring back up what they had grazed and chew it again.  This is an excellent method of Bible study!  Approaching the Throne of Grace (and all that means), utilizing 1 John 1:9 (confessing and applying the blood for cleansing), and washing in the water of the Word, we can graze in James by reading all of it in one sitting and “chew the cud” as we dust, prepare meals for our family, vacuum, etc.  Ahhhhh….the blessings awaiting the mom/wife who “keeps” the home.  She does not fill up God’s gift of time with anything that crowds out or hinders her high calling.

We have just begun our adventure in James.  Wanna’ come along?  Read it through (in a clean, unmarked Bible, if you can – I can’t!) in one sitting several times.  Do this until the main themes begin to become apparent.  Read chapter 1 and skip to chapter 5.  This gives you the opening statements and the summary statements.  How do they compare/differ?  During this phase, I read different translations.  Caution here.  I have many Bibles and translations available to me and I still only use a few:  New American Standard is my reading Bible of choice.  It is a “rhema” type of translation.  (Click on “rhema” in the right column of this blog  if you need the definition of “rhema.”)  A word for word translation, also, is the King James Version.  The New International version is a thought for thought version – see “logos” in margin.  Read the Amplyfied, Vincent, Vine’s or Young’s literal translation.  Yet, I am not sure you need to do this at all.  It’s just me.  So, read the KJV or NAS all the way through James – often.

Now, the fun part!  Get out your colored pencils.  Choose different colors for different themes.  For instance: when I look at chapter two, “faith” or “believe” pops out in red.  Chapter one, has the word, “hear,” done this way; chapter three, “wise,” “wisdom” pop out.  And, chapter four, “humble.”

Enough – already!   I’ll bring ya’ll along every now and then in our study.  Expect interruptions!  The world, the flesh, and the devil do not want you to study to be approved by God – the  alternative:  no study, no approval!

August 2, 2009 - Posted by | "Brethren", "Word of God", James, on faith, Pages from my journal, Who is my Family?

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

