Searchfortreasure's Blog

…a Bible student's notes…

DEAD WOMAN WALKING

….or…..

LIVING A LIFE OF DYING

This post falls into the category of “If anyone were to ask me where the Lord has me meditating now.”  The “now” is today – June 29, 2009.  The “now” is yesterday, the 28th and Saturday, the 27th.  The past two days, especially, I have had many opportunities “to die.”  Elisabeth Elliott wrote a biography of Amy Carmichael entitled, ‘A Chance to Die.” Very early in her longings to please the Lord, something not to her liking happened and an older, seasoned missionary said to her, “See in it a chance to die.”

 It pleases the Lord to “die daily.”

 One of the ways, the Lord provides opportunities to die is suffering.  The cross is taken up daily.  It is heavy to carry until one is hung there and the real agony begins – until the suffering servant is dead.  (Methought I heard someone say, but we don’t literally die – our body, anyway.  No, not yet, but we are gonna! And when that time comes, the deader we already are, the better for the life to come.)  

 Die fast!  It shortens the agony.

  One of the ways the Lord provides opportunities for suffering is marriage.  (Gulp, did I just read that correctly, you say.

 Get out your Bibles, we are gong to 1 Peter. 

 Whose letter are we reading?  “To the elect (called out ones), according to the foreknowledge (“prognosis”) of God, the Father, by the sanctifying work of the Spirit into (a point reached) of obeying Jesus, the Christ…” 

 Subject of this letter?  Chapter 5, verse 12:  …”I have written to you briefly, exhorting and testifying that this is the true grace of God.  Stand firm in it!”

 And what is between the opening and closing of this letter that constitutes this true “grace of God”?  The salvation to be revealed  “at the last time” (1:5), at the revelation of Jesus Christ (1:13), obtained through the outcome of our  trials of faith, the salvation of our souls.  This salvation has to do with suffering – the sufferings of Christ, in 4:12.  “And after you have suffered for a little while, the God of all grace, who called you to His eternal glory in Christ, will Himself perfect, confirm, strengthen and establish you.” (5:10)

 And what exhortations are right in the center of this 5 chapter letter?

  Let’s begin at 2:21 and keep reading through to 3:6.  There are no chapter divisions in the orginal and there most certainly should not be a division here.  You could miss the point!

 “For you have been called for this purpose, since Christ also suffered for you, leaving you an example for you to follow in His steps, Who committed no sin, nor was any deceit found in His mouth; and while being reviled, He did not revile in return; while suffering, He uttered no threats, but kept entrusting Himself to Him who judges righteously; and He Himself bore our sins in His body on the cross, that we might die to sin and live to righteousness; for by His wounds you were healed.  For you were continually straying like sheep, but now you have returned to the Shepherd and the Guardian of your souls.

 IN THE SAME WAY, you wives, be submissive to your own husbands so that even if any of them are disobedient to the word, they may be won without a word by the behavior of their wives, as they observe your chaste and respectful behavior.  And let not your adornment be merely external – braiding the hair, wearing  gold jewelry, or putting on dresses; but let it be the hidden person of the heart, with the imperishable quality of a gentle and quiet spirit, which is precious in the sight of God.  For in this way in former times the holy women also, who hoped in God, used to adorn themselves, being submissive to their own husbands.  Thus Sarah obeyed Abraham, calling him lord, and you have become her children if you do what is right without being frightened by any fear.” (NASB)

 (I do hope I didn’t hear someone say the “what ifs” at this point!!  It could mean you are looking for a way out of this suffering.)  Wives, if you are called to share and participate in our Lord’s coming Kingdom and Glory, your Bibles should automatically fall open to this passage!  One of those times you are meditating here, phrases will pop out at you to aid your obedience. 

 See that last phrase – “do what is right without being frightened by any fear?”

When tempted to rebel from the Shepherd and Guardian of your soul, ask yourself – and the Lord – “what is it that I fear?”

 The answer: “dying to sin and living righteously.”  Dying to self and entrusting myself to the One Who judges righteously.  The ONLY One Who can judge righteously, for only He knows the heart.  If I revile in return, and utter threats, I am defending myself, and not entrusting myself and the situation,  to the Shepherd and Guardian of my soul.  Does that prick anyone else’s heart, but mine!

 Below I have copied some scriptures from a sermon outline that are helpful to me in this conflict of suffering and dying to self:

 The conflict inside our soul

Romans 7:14 For we know that the law is spiritual: but I am carnal, sold under sin. 15 For that which I do I allow not: for what I would, that do I not; but what I hate, that do I. 16 If then I do that which I would not, I consent unto the law that it is good. 17 Now then it is no more I that do it, but sin [lust] that dwelleth in me [under the influence of lust]. 18 For I know that in me (that is, in my flesh,) dwelleth no good thing: for to will is present with me; but how to perform that which is good I find not. 19 For the good that I would I do not: but the evil which I would not, that I do. 20 Now if I do that I would not, it is no more I that do it, but sin that dwelleth in me. 21 I find then a law, that, when I would do good, evil [lust] is present with me. 22 For I delight in the law of God after the inward man: 23 But I see another law in my members [my lusts], warring against the law of my mind, and bringing me into captivity to the law of sin which is in my members. 24 O wretched man that I am! who shall deliver me from the body of this death? 25 I thank God through Jesus Christ our Lord. So then with the mind I myself serve the law of God; but with the flesh [lust] the law of sin.

The way to overcome the conflict

John 12:24 Verily, verily, I say unto you, Except a corn of wheat fall into the ground and die, it  abideth alone: but if it die, it bringeth forth much fruit. 25 He that loveth his life shall lose it; and he that hateth his life in this world shall keep it unto life eternal. 26 If any man serve me, let him follow me; and where I am, there shall also my servant be: if any man serve me, him will my Father honour.

 To die is to deny yourself

Matthew 16:24 Then said Jesus unto his disciples, If any man will come after me, let him deny himself, and take up his cross [daily, Luke 9:23], and follow me. 25 For whosoever will save his life shall lose it: and whosoever will lose his life for my sake shall find it. 26 For what is a man profited, if he shall gain the whole world, and lose his own soul? or what shall a man give in exchange for his soul? 27 For the Son of man shall come in the glory of his Father with his angels; and then he shall reward every man according to his works.

 To deny is to abstain

1 Peter 2:11 Dearly beloved, I beseech you as strangers and pilgrims, abstain from fleshly lusts, which war against the soul;

 Lifestyle of those that are dead

Matthew 6:25 THEREFORE I say unto you, Take no thought for your life, what ye shall eat, or what ye shall drink; nor yet for your body, what ye shall put on. Is not the life more than meat, and the body than raiment? 

 The dead are content

1 Timothy 6:6-9  But godliness with contentment is great gain. 7. For we brought nothing into this world, and it is certain we can carry nothing out. 8. And having food and raiment let us be therewith content. 9. But they that will be rich [discontent] fall into temptation and a snare, and into many foolish and hurtful lusts [discontent], which drown men in destruction and perdition.

 For me to live is not ME

Philippians 1:21 For to me to live is Christ, and to die is gain.

 Christ is everything! The rest is dung

Philippians 3:8 Yea doubtless, and I count all things but loss for the excellency of the knowledge of Christ Jesus my Lord: for whom I have suffered the loss of all things, and do count them but dung, that I may win Christ, 9 And be found in him, not having mine own righteousness, which is of the law, but that which is through the faith of Christ, the righteousness which is of God by faith: 10 That I may know him, and the power of his resurrection, and the fellowship of his sufferings, being made conformable unto his death

June 29, 2009 - Posted by | Pages from my journal

1 Comment »

  1. Reblogged this on Searchfortreasure's Blog and commented:

    I needed this reminder…

    Comment by searchfortreasure | May 22, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

